Winter 2010 Anime Chart V3

So I guess we’re starting this thing up with multiple posts. I suppose it’s going to be worth a mention ahead of time: I’ll probably use this blog to review a LOT of crap. Anime, manga, games, VNs, whatever I read/watch/play, I’ll probably have something to say about it afterwards. After all, nothing says “blog” more than “my opinion on _____.”

So the third version of the Winter 2010 anime chart is apparently out. This is as good an opportunity as any to discuss the season, which has technically already started.

Now here’s the thing: For the longest time, I’ve been away from the fansubbing thing in general. Most of the anime I’ve watched over the last couple of years has been stuff released on DVD that I had some degree of familiarity with, either from watching the series in subs long before or by having read the manga. It’s only recently that I’ve gotten back into it as a result of having so much free time on my hands at work that I started actually reading a forum that I pretty much just lurked at for a handful of subjects before. This will probably be the first season that I’ve really been back into fansubs for since 2005 or so. So let’s see what’s on the table, shall we?

Chu-Bra!! – I don’t know if this will be worth a crap. I figure it’s worth at least watching one episode, just to see what the hell it’s about. I have zero familiarity with this series.

So-Ra-No-Wo-To – Definitely watching this. “K-ON! at war” pretty much sums up what it looks like. Literally. Someone in the anime production staff got pissed when someone said it looked like K-ON!, but you can’t deny the similarities in design. It’s scary. Anyway, it looks like it could be a good watch.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu – Don’t know much about this one. The manga caught my eye in scanlations, but I’m not a big reader of scanlations, so I don’t know if I’ll ever get around to reading it. Seems interesting enough, so I’ll give it a shot.

Dance in the Vampire Bund – This is the big one I’ll be watching. I’m more hyped for this one than any other. I recently started buying the manga, but haven’t actually gotten around to reading it yet. I hear nothing but good things and what little I have read by skimming through and in plot summaries seems really interesting. Plus, it’s a SHAFT series. SHAFT is awesome.

Durarara!! – Never watched Baccano!!, though the dub is apparently amazing and it’s on Hulu. It’s on my to watch list. Durarara!! seems to be drumming up a lot of interest from people, though, so I guess I’ll see what it’s all about.

Ookamikakushi – Don’t know squat about this. Apparently it wasn’t a great VN. What I do know about it, though, is that it was written by Ryukishi07, the guy in charge of Higurashi and Umineko, and that apparently PEACH-PIT was involved in character design. Seems like a winning combo, so I’m not sure how it didn’t do so well. I’ll be going into this one with a fair degree of curiosity but fairly low expectations.

Past these, I’m not really that interested in much. Anything else I pick up will be entirely based around hype and recommendation after the fact. I would consider the Fate/Stay Night movie, but I haven’t read the VN yet and I heard the TV series was a wonderful bastardization of it, so I really don’t know much about the series yet. When/if I get around to reading it, I’ll definitely give the movie a shot.

Anyway, that’s it again. Maybe I’ll go longer than a few hours without posting something new this time.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

