FUNimation licenses BakaTest and Vampire Bund

http://blog.funimation.com/2010/03/baka-and-test-dance-in-the-vampire-bund/

Pretty unexpected, since neither has finished airing.

I don’t have a whole lot to comment on here. BakaTest is definitely a purchase for me, maybe even a pre-order, depending on when I buy my usual round of stuff at Right Stuf. If you haven’t seen it yet, do yourself a favor and go watch it. It’s one of the best shows I’ve seen in a while. I do hope that “Baka and Test -Summon the Beasts-” isn’t actually the final title, though. It’s an incorrect/incomplete translation and it doesn’t sound as good as “Idiots and Tests and Summoned Beings/Beasts/Monsters/Whatever.” Vampire Bund, on the other hand, hasn’t really been worth a purchase so far. Unless the remaining episodes absolutely blow me away, I doubt I’ll be buying it, at least not immediately. I may instead opt to pick it up when the price drops or if it goes on sale.

Nice acquisitions on FUNi’s part, but again, a bit disappointed that there is no Higurashi Kai license. And they already lost Toradora. FUNi’s not doing half bad this year, but they’re dropping the ball on a lot of things people actually want. Here’s to hoping the rest of the con season plays out with some more good news.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

