Fall 2010 Initial Impressions

Apologies for this one starting late, but gg had issues getting Soredemo 1 out the door, so I had to wait on it to be subbed… then I marathoned all of Toradora and Toradora SOS on DVD yesterday, leaving myself with no time to actually sit down and watch it. No plans to pick anything else up this season, but as always, that could change. Let’s get down to what I know I’m watching this season.

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt – Two foul-mouthed, ill-tempered, and quite naughty angels fight the Ghost threat in a city between Heaven and Hell.

I’m sure the first thing you’ll notice about this one is the art style. Yes, we’ve already made all of the Powerpuff Girl comparisons we care to. Moving on. It’s actually a pretty decent show. It’s a little too foul just for the sake of being foul, but it’s strange and weird and completely different than any other anime out there. It’s a nice change of pace from the usual stuff that we see every season. Gainax is behind this one, so expect it to get weird. Each airing consists of two episodes, giving this show a Western cartoon feel in execution. The feeling is driven even deeper by the art style and the content, very different from what you usually see in anime and akin to something you’d see on Comedy Central or Adult Swim. My biggest problem is that out of the two airings so far, I only kinda liked the first episode, I loved the second, I liked the third, and I really didn’t care much at all for the fourth. Episodes seem to be very hit and miss, but I’ll still follow the series just to see how it turns out.

MM! – A high school boy who is an extreme masochist seeks help to solve his problem from a school club with some quirky people of its own.

This one started out with a bit of a generic feel and a potential “Oh God we might relapse into Inami’s crap from Working” vibe, but managed to dodge most of that by the second episode. It’s looking pretty promising. It doesn’t look like it’ll be the smash hit of the season or anything, but it at least looks like it will be a fun watch.

Bakuman – A 9th grade student who lost his manga-writer uncle three years ago is convinced to follow the same path by a classmate and write their own manga together.

This one’s really, really, REALLY laid-back and slow-paced. If that’s not your thing, avoid it at all costs. I find it to be a good, relaxing watch, though, and I enjoy the characters and what the plot has to offer so far. This one’s supposedly scheduled for 25 episode so we’ll see how I feel later about the pace, but I’m really liking it so far. It’s a nice series to just chill to.

Star Driver – I seriously don’t even know how to describe this. There’s an island, some girls with powers that don’t seem to do anything, a Galactic Pretty Boy, giant robots, and an evil syndicate. It’s also quite… fabulous.

I picked this one up because Bones. I needed something to fill the gap after Heroman. This series, while being really hard to figure out, is incredibly fun and enjoyable. Really, the less you think about it, the better the show gets. It’s funny, it’s awesome, it’s crazy, the characters are fun, etc. A strong contender for show of the season just by animation quality, soundtrack quality, and general enjoyment.

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai (My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute) – After discovering a mysterious DVD case with a little sister eroge inside, a guy who doesn’t get along well with his sister discovers it actually belongs to her, and becomes her confidant to help her deal with her repressed otaku side. (Terrible description is terrible.)

Really, really strong contender for show of the season. It’s been a blast so far. I don’t really have a whole lot to say about it other than it should be on everyone’s watch list this season. It’s a shame that it’s going to end when the Fall season does.

Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge – Sequel to Arakawa Under the Bridge.

If you want my opinions on Arakawa, go check out the posts I made about it from earlier this year. What I’ll say about this season is that so far it’s off to a much better start than the first. It took me a while to get into the groove of the first one, but I’m already enjoying the second, probably because I’m already familiar with the setting and characters and I already know who I like the most and want to see.

Yosuga no Sora – A twin brother and sister move into a rural town after losing their parents. Gonna be some twincest.

I had my eye on the VN this is based on a while back, but translation is slow so I haven’t been able to read it. From the first episode, the series felt rushed in all the wrong places. All of the girls were immediately all over the main character (who’s really not that interesting) and most of them weren’t very interesting. Unfortunately, they couldn’t push through the integration into the new school fast enough and I just felt really bored waiting on something interesting to happen. The second episode felt a lot better. We start getting some characterization and learning about these girls who are suddenly fawning over boring main. And some of the are actually less boring than I thought. The third episode looks to have some good progression as well, so I’m hoping it continues going places at a decent pace like the second episode. Otherwise, it’s at risk of being dropped.

Shinryaku! Ika Musume – A young squid girl named Ika Musume (literally “Squid Girl”) tries to take revenge on humanity for polluting the oceans.

This was quite the surprise. I went in knowing nothing about the series other than the manga was somewhat well-liked, but I came out absolutely loving it. Squid Girl is adorable and the show is pretty funny. It’s a surprise hit with a lot of anime fans and depending on how it continues to perform, it could be a contender for show of the season de geso!

The World God Only Knows – A nerdy student who can conquer any virtual girl’s heart in games has been stuck with the task of driving spirits out of young girl’s hearts by making them fall in love with him.

Big contender for show of the season, right here. This was glorious. Every minute and every second of it was awesome. This show’s gonna be huge. If you’re not watching it, start it. There’s really nothing else to say.

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru – A high-school girl works at a tea shop as a maid (but not like a typical maid cafe) and dreams of becoming a detective (according to this summary I read).

I picked this one up entirely because it’s a SHAFT series, but I don’t regret it. It actually does have its share of problems so far, mostly that the plot hasn’t really gone anywhere and that there aren’t many interesting characters in the case, but it somehow keeps itself going well enough and it’s genuinely interesting and entertaining. Certainly not one of the best shows this season, but it’s pretty good from just the first episode. The main character’s quite fun and I look forward to seeing more of her.

To Aru Majutsu no Index II – Second season of To Aru Majutsu no Index.

Not a whole lot to say about this one. If you’ve seen Index, it’s more of the same. If you’ve only seen Railgun, why the hell didn’t you watch Index instead? Anyway, looking pretty good so far. Not sure it’ll ever stack up to the other good shows this season and hit “show of the season” status, but I guess there’s always the possibility depending on how well it does adapting the light novels and avoiding fan backlash. Looks to be another fun romp through Academy City and being the big Index/Railgun fan that I am, I’m ready to eat it all up. It’s gonna be a blast.

Sorry if everything seems a bit bare-bones, but I’m not feeling like writing much for these for some reason. No immediate plans for VNs (though there are some coming out that I want to play, like apparently RC4 for Remember11 came out today and may be considered the final patch or something) or anime. I’m gonna try to get through A Witch’s Tale on DS before Halloween this year, but that’s about it. I may do a review if I’m feeling festive enough after the whole thing.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

