“Mirror’s Edge” Review

88991_front

So way back on January 13th, I said I’d probably get around to this next. I had owned it less than a month. For some reason, it took me until two days ago just to start it. Go figure. Anyway, here’s the long-awaited Mirror’s Edge review.

We’ll be going with the same three-category rating system as usual.

Gameplay: 9/10 – For the most part, the gameplay is pretty solid. Faith moves quite well and combat, while somewhat difficult, is at least responsive. Platforming is flawless here, with my only gripe being the timing required to do a skill roll. The tutorial tells you that you simply have to hold the button, but it’s not so much that as it is that you have to do it closer to hitting the ground. Otherwise you just coil in the air and it doesn’t finish in a skill roll. Finding the timing can be difficult. It’s a minor gripe, though, and I won’t be taking much off for it. As far as combat goes, my only gripe was that it can be unnecessarily difficult to disarm certain enemies. The ones with assault rifles (I guess, I don’t know crap about guns) were really hard to disarm and I would frequently get killed against large groups of them because in an effort to disarm them and get out of the line of fire of others as quickly as possible, I would usually get the crap beaten out of me at close range while I missed disarms. Other than that, combat was great. Some enemies are a pain to take out, but they all tend to drop with a combination of melee strikes and jump kicks. Using the environment to help launch attacks is not only possible, but very useful. It feels pretty well thought out. The game’s story was also well thought out and featured great animated cutscenes that told the story very well. A lot of people complain about a cliffhanger ending, but while there’s certainly more going on than the game resolves, the game’s individual story itself is wrapped up quite neatly. What really happened here was the typical setup for a sequel, so I’m not going to fault the game for that. The story of Faith and Kate was resolved and that’s all that mattered to me.

Graphics: 8/10 – The graphics in this game are pretty good, but there’s a lot to be desired. There are a lot of issues with blurry edges in some places and the depth of field blur worked against you in a lot of cases where you would try to move the camera around up against walls (like hanging from edges or trying to run up a wall or something). Just about everything being so pristine and white also makes it somewhat difficult to figure out what is and isn’t going to kill you if you head toward it. For the most part, though, the graphics are great. They’re several years old, so I expect a bit of a lack of detail in some of the character models, so I won’t knock points off for that. It looked great when it came out.

Sound: 8/10 – The sound in this game is pretty good. The voice acting was amazing and sound effects are great. My only gripe is with the music. The music is sparse here and often unnoticeable in the heat of a gunfight, which is usually when it plays. It’s also pretty unmemorable. It does work for the game, though, fitting in where it should and being played appropriately. It just doesn’t really stand out, which I suppose could also be fine since you wouldn’t want it distracting you from the game.

Overall: 8.3 – This was a great game, which I already knew from the time I played the demo ages and ages ago. It was great to sit down and finally play through it. It’s unfortunately on the short side, but there’s plenty of stuff to do, like time trials and speed runs, as well as going back to unlock certain trophies you probably won’t hit on the first time through. (I still never got the one for not getting shot.) I do recommend this one and I look forward to the inevitable sequel now that the Tim Langdell crap has been dealt with.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

