Spring 2011 Chart v3.0 and my shows to watch for the season

Once again, this season’s chart is brought to us by cowboybibimbop.

I would have liked to have waited for a chart with some more concrete starting dates on it, but with the bulk of the season starting next month, I may as well get to planning out what I’ll be watching.

Moshidora – I’ve heard good things about the source material, so I’ll be picking this one up. I’m also pretty interested in the airing schedule. Unless it’s changed, the show will be airing one episode every day (or at least every weekday, I forget). I’d like to see how that works out.

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai – *Shrug* Just looks cute. I pick up a lot of stuff by art style.

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control – It’s an orignal series that sounds like it could be pretty good. I’m always up for trying out some original stuff.

Sket Dance – I’ve heard too much about the manga to pass this one up. I’ll have to give it a shot.

Nichijou – The OVA hits next week and the TV series will follow. What I’ve seen of previews makes it look like a combination of a lot of series that I like, so I’m hoping the formula works out for it. Additionally, it’s KyoAni, so I pretty much have to check it out.

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko – Newest Shaft series. Can’t pass it up. It’s a law.

30-sai no Hoken Taiiku – A self-help series for men in their 30s about dating women and having sex with them… This is either going to be really luzly or really depressing, but I’ll have to check it out to find out which.

Dog Days – Newest series from the creator of Nanoha. You couldn’t stop me from watching this if you tried.

The World God Only Knows S2 – Oh man, continuation of the first season. Gonna be awesome.

A Channel – I dunno. Cute art and a 4koma adaptation. Sounds right up my alley.

Hidan no Aria – This has been something I’ve been waiting on for a while, but it’s been so long that I can’t really remember the original reason. Kugimiya plays the lead, though, so I’m totally in anyway.

Maria-Holic: Alive – S2 of Maria-Holic. I wasn’t too taken with the first season, but I had read the manga before it and I thought the manga had much better execution of pretty much everything. The only episode I really liked was the last one because it was original content and followed Shaft’s typical style. This one will pick up where I stopped reading (Read: Stopped being able to afford) the manga. I won’t be going into it with a bias, so I’ll probably enjoy it more. Too bad nothing will ever top the ED of the first season, though.

Lotte no Omocha! – The premise on this one sounds pretty lulzy, but according to manga readers, the series ends up ignoring a lot of it in favor of a rather sweet father-daughter relationship between the tiny succubus and her human victim (who already has a real daughter). I’m in on that concept, because I do like series that work on that premise (like Yotsuba&!). Also, more Kugimiya lead role.

Steins;Gate – I never did get around to watching (or playing, despite my best efforts) Chaos;Head, but I’m assuming that there’s little to no direct relation to the two other than the world they’re set in, so I’ll be watching this as Steins;Gate still has no VN translation.

Hanasaku Iroha – Sounds like my slice-of-life show for the season.

Hen Zemi – Another of those shows where the OVA will come before the series. No idea why I want to watch it other than it sounds like it’ll be a decent comedy series and I’m always willing to give more seinen a shot. The first OVA is out, so I’ll give it a try soon.

As for specials and OVAs:
– Gundam Unicorn #3 (which should be out today)
– Koe de Oshigoto! #2
– Asobi ni Iku yo! OVA (no idea why, I didn’t like the show that much)
– Shukufuku no Campanella OVA (Oh dear lord, please let there be more Tortilla Co. and sexy Agnes.)
– Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu OVA 2 (moar BtT please)
– .hack//Quantum #3 (still waiting on subs for #2)
– Morita-san wa Mukuchi (*Shrug*)
– Seitokai Yakuindomo OVA (Oh hell yes.)
– Amagami SS OVA (Miya episode, ohgodohgodohgod)
– Highschool of the Dead OVA
– Kaichou wa Maid-sama! Special
– Valkyria Chronicles 3 OVA (May hold off on this one depending on if it spoils the game or not)

The only other possible addition would be Kaiji S2, but I still have to watch S1, so that’ll be further down the line, I’m sure.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

