My first con experience

So the reason I couldn’t really get around to the final impressions this weekend was that I finally went to my very first anime convention: Anime Weekend Atlanta.

I love every minute of it. It was all new and exciting. Seeing cosplayers running around, playing games I’d never played before, looking around at all of the awesome stuff in the Dealer’s Room, buying some of the awesome stuff in the Dealer’s Room, checking out panels, getting autographs and photos with some of my all-time favorite VAs… I felt like there just wasn’t enough time in the day to do everything I wanted to. As a matter of fact, I already miss it. Each day since it’s been over, I’ve had the thought cross my mind that there was something to do at AWA that I wish I could still do right now. I keep looking back at the pictures I took and wishing it was already September of next year.

Anyway, not gonna ramble on forever about how much I enjoyed it. I’ll just post a few pictures and let it be until next year.

First up, autographs. I got autographs from both Vic Mignogna and Brina Palencia. Vic signed my copy of Disgaea 3, where he voiced the main character, Mao.

I also got Brina to autograph the inside cover art for Evangelion 1.01, where she voiced Rei Ayanami.

And here’s all the junk I ended up getting.

And here’s a better shot of the figures.

And here are the trading figures I ended up with after I opened the boxes.

I’m really impressed with that Petit Nendoroid Yuno. I’m gonna have to pick up some more Petit Nendoroids at those kinds of prices. I also really love that little Miya (Amagami) with the cat ears and tail.

Now of course the crown jewels of my selection are the Toradora figures. I don’t have a good photo of those yet because I don’t really have anywhere to put them, but I’m really happy that I finally have a Taiga figure.

So here’s the breakdown on cost for all of that stuff:
– Vocaloid wallscrolls: $15 x 3
– AWA 2011 shirt: $20
– Niconico.com shirt: Cheap as free
– Railgun figure (Gym outfit Mikoto): $7
– Ika Musume figure (Nagisa): $10
– Amagami figure (Miya): $13
– Nanoha figure (Yuno): $10
– K-ON! figure (Mugi): $13
– Fumoffu figure (Ren, student council secretary): $10
– Toradora figures: $75 for the pair
– Factory sealed copy of Arcana Heart (PS2) and the satisfaction that I no longer have to regret not buying it when it came out: $35

Total swag cost: $238

Addtional con costs:
– Pre-reg pass (late): $40
– Gas for three round trips: $40

Total con cost: $318

That’s about what I expected to spend. I’ve already pre-registered for next year for $20, and I expect to spend a lot more then. I’ll probably be trying to flesh out my figure collection with some Touhou and Vocaloid items, as well as possibly picking up some more Toradora. Hell, if I haven’t bought it by then, I may try to pick up the upcoming Taiga Nendoroid while I’m there, once I can see it in person.

Anyway, it was definitely a fun experience and I look forward to going back. Hopefully this time I’ll be able to catch the Touhou meetup when it happens instead of at the tail end when they’re shooting group photos…

P.S. If you’re in this photo and you object to me posting a crappy cell-phone picture of you where I can’t even really make out your face and you’re already in disguise, just… lemme know or something. Whatever. I’m sure no one cares or even reads this.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “My first con experience”

  1. My second con experience | The Blue Truth Says:

    […] all the way to the con. I sat next to a Meiling that I think might have actually been the one in the 2011 con post, though I didn’t realize that until last night. I wonder if it actually was […]

Leave a Reply

