Spring 2012 Initial Impressions

Took a while to get to this due to Hyouka coming out really late into the season, and then I’ve been fairly busy during the week, with what little free time I had dedicated to Idolmaster (more on that shortly).

Haiyore! Nyaruko-san – Lovecraft-mythos creatures taking the form of teenage girls invade young Mahiro’s life, turning into a nightmare both figuratively and literally.


This one is pretty impressive. It helps that I was already a fan of the shorts that have been shown before (particularly the second series of them), but finally getting a series for the actual novel content is great. This show is a blast. It’s filled with references, the animation is nice, voice acting it top-notch, and it’s just plain funny. Definitely one I’m going to stick with and a strong contender for show of the season.

Hyouka – A boy who wants nothing more than to live out his high school days in solitary peace ends up as part of a club that his sister wanted him to carry on. One that should have been without members, but seems to have come up with a few at the last moment…

Kinda hard to pin this one down after only one episode, but I did really enjoy what I saw. The animation is gorgeous, the feel is relaxing but keeps you interested, and I just like the character dynamics so far. This’ll be a fun one, but it’s slated for 21 episodes, which strikes me as pretty odd…

Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? OF THE DEAD – Second season of the original series.

So far, more of the same goodness that made the first season so great. We actually have less of a focus on plot so far (though they’ve been dropping bits and pieces of it as they go) and the result is that we’ve had a lot more of the comedy stuff. I’m certainly anxious to get back to the plot, though. We’ve seen a good bit of our favorite serial killer and I’d like to see what she has in store for us.

Medaka Box – The new student president at Sandbox Academy is perfect in every way. A little too perfect, much to the dismay of her childhood friend and a few of her peers. She’ll stop at nothing to fulfill any request submitted by the student body.

I’m rather liking this so far, but I have no exposure to the manga. All I know is that we’re set for a badass shounen battle manga, the likes of which the world had never seen before. I’m cool with that. I’m just starting to question how much of it we’ll get to. Every time I hear the episode count for this series, it seems to shrink. We’re down to 12 now, from a projected 40-something a few weeks back. I’ve been told it’ll get good around episode 8 (I mean I already think it’s good but…) so if a 12-episode count is accurate, that doesn’t leave much room for the good stuff…

Mysterious Girlfriend X (Nazo no Kanojo X) – One day after class, a young man gets curious about the puddle of drool left on the desk by a strange new transfer student who had fallen asleep. After tasting it, he begins having strange reactions. He’s established a bond between him and her, and she thinks he’s the one that will take her first time.

As much praise as some people are heaping onto this… I just can’t hardly bring myself to care. I’m three episodes in and I’m still not sure if I want to drop it or not, but I think my lack of enthusiasm toward it is pretty much my answer. We’ll see, as the fourth episode comes out today and whether or not I even bother to watch it will probably be my decision.

Kids on the Slope (Sakamichi no Apollon) – A new student from a sheltered background transfers into a new school, where he becomes friends with a local girl and her tough-guy friend, deepening his bonds of friendship with those around him through the power of jazz.

This one’s been amazing so far. I mean, it would have to be with the people it has behind it, but it’s definitely a strong contender for show of the season. There’s nothing I don’t like about it. The animation and style are nice, the plot is good, the characters are a blast, and the music is absolutely amazing. It’s just so great.

Saki: Achiga-hen – Episode of Side-A – Side story to the original series. Focused on a new cast made up of some friends of Nodoka before she went to Kiyosumi. They aim to meet her at the nationals where the original Saki anime left off.

Well I love me some Saki (the original series is my 3rd favorite anime of all time), so needless to say, I’m enjoying this. It’s been kinda light on super power and mahjong battles so far, but we have a good cast with natural talent and the most recent episode was absolutely filled to the brim with cameos from the original series. Heck, we even had a cameo of my favorite character, Yuuki (Tacos), right from the first episode. Anyway, I’m really looking forward to this, but I’m a little upset that it’ll only be a single season worth of content. I hope it doesn’t take too long to get to the next Saki anime series.

Sankarea – A young boy likes zombies. He likes them a little too much… He’d give anything for a zombie girlfriend. When his cat dies in an accident, he discovers a book that may hold the secret to resurrection. However, when a chain of freak occurences leads to not only success in bringing back his cat, but also a girl from the neighboring girls’ school…

This one’s pretty good. It took a while to get going, but now that we’re in the thick of the zombie plot, I’m starting to enjoy it. The cast is good and the premise is nice, but it’s certainly not top-tier this season. I’ll be watching it regardless, but I don’t expect to have a very strong opinion of it by the end of the season.

Dusk Maiden of Amnesia (Tasogare Otome x Amnesia) – After hearing rumors of a ghost girl that haunts the school, a young boy manages to stumble onto the existence of the dreaded ghost herself. Turns out she’s just like any other person, only dead. Seeing that she doesn’t really haunt anyone for any particular reason, he befriends her. But is that really all there is to her, or is there something darker lurking in the shadows of her past?

This is a much better dead girl series. Very good stuff, and it’s also directed by Shin Oonuma, who I love. I’m really excited to see where this one goes. It could be a contender for show of the season, but it’s got some pretty stiff competition, so I’m not counting on it. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Upotte!! – There’s a school in Japan for girls who are a little… different. All of the girls at this school are actually guns. This is a simple series about the daily lives of these guns as they learn about themselves and their friends and strive to live up to their potential.

You know, I thought I was doing well with the synopsis thing until this one… Anyway, this is a pretty good show, but it’s nothing special. I like the concept and the execution is good, but in the end it’s just another moé “cute girls doing cute things” show. The only difference is that it has a lot of guns. It’s still good, though, and I’ll be watching it as it goes along this season.

Nothing left that I intend to pick up this season, so that’s about it from me on the anime front until the season is over.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Spring 2012 Initial Impressions”

  1. Justin Says:

    I gave Mysterious Girlfriend X the axe after 1 episode. I commend you for being one of the many to continue with it despite the drool.

    As for the list, not bad, not bad, especially Haiyore. I didn’t think it’d be so good. Then I go watch it and laugh hilariously…

    • Daverost Says:

      Well, I wanted to like MGX, not really having much issue with the drool, but… it was just too boring for me.

      Also wow, the formatting on this was so broken. What happened? How embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

