Fall 2012 Final Impressions

iD69Mom5mxb9w

Apologies for how long it took to get around to this. The holidays were not kind to me in terms of free time.

So there are no carryovers this time. The only one I could say is Chitose Get You and that was a little three-minute show. It was fun, but not long enough to really deserve coverage here. Definitely one of the better short shows like that, though. Likewise, I won’t be covering Teekyuu from this season, which was… insane. Fun, but insane. So let’s get rolling on the full shows.

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! – This was excellent. KyoAni is saving anime again. With moé. Anyway, it had a fun cast, an interesting story and great character interactions, and the animation was absolutely gorgeous. It was a hell of an experience. They also gave us some bonus fun with the Chuunibyou Lite episodes early on during the broadcast, but those were unfortunately short-lived. The themes were great, too. I personally thought that Chuunibyou Lite had the season’s best OP and Chuunibyou had the season’s best ED. Bottom line: It’s KyoAni moé, but with substance. If that doesn’t turn you away at all, watch it. Some people can’t stand KyoAni anymore, but those that don’t needlessly hate them will find themselves rewarded here.

Hidamari Sketch x Honeycomb – Nothing new to write home about here. It’s more Hidamari. But among the different Hidamari seasons, I’d have to say this one comes in at the top. I’m not sure without going back to watch it again whether or not I like it more than 365, but one of those two is definitely my favorite season, so I think that speaks pretty highly of this one. This one did seem to have more fanservice than the other seasons, though. That’s not exactly a problem, but it does stand out as a bit of an odd thing for Hidamari. Bottom line: If you’ve been following Hidamari up to this point, keep going. This season is great, so there’s no reason to stop now.

Busou Shinki – This one had me honestly surprised. I didn’t expect it to be as much of a quality show as it was. In the end, it was another cute girls doing cute things show, but with little robot waifus, but I still really enjoyed it. The cast was charming, the fights (few as there were) were good, and the voice talent was top-notch. I think this lighter mood fits the series a lot better than all of the drama Moon Angel tried to shoehorn in. When you’re talking about a line of mass-produced fighting robot girls, there no reason to have anything other than a normal life around them. Either that or a tournament series, which wouldn’t be bad, but would probably get stale fast. Bottom line: Give it a shot. I had prior exposure to the Busou Shinki series, so I don’t know that I would have given it a shot otherwise, but I’m certainly glad I watched it. It was one of the shows I most looked forward to every week.

K – This was also a bit of a surprise. I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this, but it ended up being pretty highly reminiscent of Durarara, and that’s definitely a good thing. It had a great visual style, but there was a lot of focus on the “gang wars” between the different groups of king followers with a street flavor from the reds. The music was prevalent in the series and really enhanced the mood. The fights were incredible. It was just an all-around good show. It’s been announced to have a second season already, so I’m pretty excited. Bottom line: Give this one a shot, too. You may be pleasantly surprised by how charming it is and how much love was put into it.

Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankei Nai yo ne – I had some high hopes for this one at first, but as it went on I started to lose interest in it a little. The only thing that really kept me going was a portion of the cast, mostly Ana. Ana’s pretty damn great. Best girl of the season. Bottom line: It’s a harem series. You’re either interested or you’re not. You won’t need me to tell you. It’s not a bad one, though.

Medaka Box Abnormal – Second season of Medaka Box and the one that hits the shounen action stuff full-force. I haven’t read the manga, but I saw a lot of what people mentioned here that made it worth reading. There was some nice biting sarcasm, irony, and parodies of typical shounen series. Up to the end and including the final episode based on Kumogawa, I’d be interested in reading the manga if I have time, but I just really don’t think I will. I don’t expect to see another season of this, though. It just didn’t do well in Japan. Shame. Bottom line: Better than the first season, but if you haven’t seen that, then you shouldn’t bother watching this.

Seitokai no Ichizon Lv.2 – You know what? This wasn’t good. There was a change in staff, including the writer. This is, as far as I could find out, more of a direct adaptation of the series and lacks the comedy writer of the first season. You know what? Keep it. I want my first season back. This one bored me to death. It was not good. Elise showing up here and there made it worth watching. Everything else was… ugh. Bottom line: Skip it, even if you loved the first season. It’s not worth it.

I dropped BTOOOM! The only thing I regret is that I missed an episode with a Deathsmiles reference, but I saw the screenshot anyway, so no big loss.

That’s unfortunately it. Everything else is ongoing. That includes Shin Sekai Yori, Bakuman, Little Busters, Sakurasou, Girls und Panzer (which has been delayed until March), Psycho-Pass, and Robotics;Notes. As a result, I won’t be making a call on Show of the Season yet, because there are still a lot of strong runners and potentially strong runners ongoing. I’ll get back to that one next season and make my Show of the Year call accordingly (though I doubt any of the current candidates are going to beat out some of the other runners).

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

