Summer 2013 Initial Impressions

????????????????????????????

Took a while to get to this one. The new Milky Holmes… Well, it was Milky Holmes. Nobody really subs it in anything even remotely resembling a timely manner.

Tamayura ~More Aggressive~

tamayura_more_aggressive

This is the third “season” of Tamayura (if you count the OVAs as the first), so you should know what to expect here. So far, it’s off to a good start. I like the new characters, and everything feels pretty right. Maon could be whistling a bit more, but eh. This series still has the power to just make me smile without realizing it through an entire episode. So good.

Servant x Service

f0c35cebfda98b054929333c01f9f1ab1372359716_full

Honestly, I’m not feeling this one as much as some other people are. It’s okay, but it’s not great. The characters don’t really mesh well together, most of them are wholly uninteresting, and it just doesn’t feel like there are enough distinct gags. It’s more like they just repeat the same ones (Lucy’s name, generic boring girl I can’t remember getting bothered by old ladies, etc.) over and over hoping for them to get funnier. I’m honestly not sure I’ll be sticking with this one. Normally it’d take more to drop something, but with as many shows as I’m watching this season, especially on Thursday, I wouldn’t mind clearing up some space on my schedule.

Monogatari Series Second Season

m2nd_b1tape 2ol

This is, as usual, the best show of the season. The Monogatari series has very few legit competitors, in my opinion. Every time a new season comes out, I expect it to be the best show that season and possibly the best that year. I’m usually right.

Senki Zesshou Symphogear G

182214zpp45gwd47sss37g

So many sequels. Well, this one is good so far. The first Symphogear suffered from a great first episode and a completely disappointing second episode. It also had a noticeably low budget early on. We haven’t hit any of those problems yet. This show has shown an impressive budget at the start and acceptable animation beyond, managing to hold interest pretty consistently through the beginning. I’m impressed. And with a new rival group, we’re bound to see a lot of good fights against more than just throwaway monsters, as well as many more songs. I’m pretty excited for the rest of this show.

Kiniro Mosaic

8701776639_f9599470bc_b

This show is about British moĆ©. Get hype. Actually, it’s surprisingly great. I’ve been really impressed with it so far. It’s super cute and very funny, and I like hearing competent English speakers take on roles in anime. I honestly adore the accents. One of my most enjoyed shows of the season, for sure.

High School DxD NEW

Highschool_dxd_new_wallpaper

More of the same from the first season, but that’s a very excellent thing to have. A great cast without a single bad character, good fighting, fun stories, and tits. Tits for days. Tits everywhere. Like 20 pairs of bare naked tits in the ED alone. In fact, I’ve tagged this post with tits just for this show. I love this series. My pre-order for the English version of the first season is only a month away.

Love Lab

185111g15oyelpefpl017o

I didn’t know what to expect going into this one, but I have to say that I’ve been pretty impressed. It’s been a really funny show. I’ve really liked it. And the main girl (red head double fang) is voiced by Hibiki (iM@S). Super hype. Gonna track all character songs for this, too.

Teekyuu S2

142795e5795580d6d0a0fc4f13d72b0e1372271484_full

More super randomness. I really don’t have a lot to say here. It’s still funny, but it’s still 2 minutes of so much random that you rarely have any idea what the hell you just watched.

Danganronpa

Danganronpa-The-Animation

I actually stopped watching this one after one episode because the game got licensed for Vita. I liked what I saw from the first episode, though. It was interesting and the characters were pretty funny in that “how the hell do you come up with this?” way. But yeah, trying to not get myself spoiled before the game comes out. I took a super risk just by looking for that picture >.> It’s kinda hard with the anime running and the PSP game having just recently gotten its fan translation released. It’s a hot topic.

Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C3-bu

298ad442f137e7f3d69fbc3272c6a24e1372788712_full

This has been a pretty nice surprise. A lot of people have tried comparing it to Upotte for reasons yet unknown to me, but I guess I can kinda see why. It’s far more lighthearted and the characters are more interesting, but it’s also less intense. It’s a nice show, though, and I’m always happy to have more. (Subs are late today, though ._.)

Fake edit: The new episode came out before I finished writing all of this. It was a lot more action-focused and was a pretty good fix for what I had a problem with before. Could have done without griefing the main character, but there was a hot springs scene, so everything is forgiven, I guess.

Genshiken Nidaime

458fb776027fe756d5087b7e76e91f661373050968_full

I was really hesitant to get enthusiastic about this because I’ve been very disappointed with the previous Genshiken adaptations. They’ve taken a lot of liberties, loaded up on filler, skipped content, and all sorts of other things. It didn’t even get finished up to the point this season starts. I’m glad that my fears were unfounded in this case, though. This has been a very faithful adaption of the manga. I’m super pleased and I really love watching it every week.

Watamote

10c1d343c74e426594e7dab59076fb4f1373222523_full

Well I knew this would be good before I started it. I love the manga. The anime has ended up being pretty good, though. I’m not sure how they’ll handle it having so little content to work with (the manga chapters are super short), but I remain hopeful that it’ll continue to be a good adaptation. And the music has been surprisingly good, too. Definitely one of the best shows this season.

Futari wa Milky Holmes

f5507865

This is a more serious approach to the series, along the lines of the Alternative OVAs. It’s meant to take on the more serious attitude of the PSP games. That automatically makes it worse than the first two seasons of the show, but it’s still better than Alternative. Alternative took the serious approach, which was fine, but it was just boring. This isn’t so bad. The new girls aren’t too bad and it’s certainly been more interesting, at least for what a half-length episode can show. I think it’s something I can stick with.

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Ilya

B00DE59DTM.09.MAIN._SCRMZZZZZZZ_

I can’t say much about it. It’s been a fun little magical girl romp with Fate characters, but I don’t feel like we’re far enough into it for me to really make a judgment call on whether it’s awesome or just interesting. I’ll still keep watching it, though.

Ro-Kyu-Bu! SS

13732971801

We got quite a bit of RKB all at once. A PSP game, an accompanying OVA, and a new season. Good times. I actually really like this show. Everyone’s cute, the basketball is actually good (for as admittedly little as there seems to be), and it’s just entertaining. A pandering show, sure, but I like those when they pander to me.

The World God Only Knows: Goddesses (S3)

a2e488dcf3388aad1988072eaa5ea3361373221361_full

We’re off to a good start here. Now, I’ve admittedly made the cardinal sin of not reading through the big gap in the manga and just watching this anyway, but it has so far kept my interest and hasn’t really lost me. I’m enjoying it and I’ll stay with it and maybe go back to the manga later. And I love that they haven’t forgotten about the S1 OP since the first episode of this season pretty much opened with it.

Hyperdimension Neptunia The Animation

8659591200_7297866105_o

I’m a little disappointed that the art style on this one isn’t closer to Tsunako’s style like the Date A Live anime was, but I was pretty impressed with the first episode overall. It looks like they really know how to please fans of the series. The second episode comes out tomorrow, so I remain hopeful that it will continue to be a good series for fans and not try so hard that ruins something/everything.

Well, that’s all I had. Nothing new for a while, I guess. I have an import pre-ordered for next late next month, but that’s about it. Probably won’t hear much out of me until the season’s over.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

