My second con experience

After skipping AWA last year from what I thought was a very light and generally bad event schedule (the only two things I really wanted to do were at the same time on the same day and two days basically had nothing going on for me), I went back this year. I had to. After all, ZUN was there.

Yes, ZUN’s first appearance outside the country and his first at any convention (or so I was told by staff) was at AWA this year, not even an hour’s drive from my house. Sadly, I didn’t get to see his panel. I had been stuck in the back of the line for Yuu Asakawa’s autograph (the only autograph I got this year) and we had run over the time. I stopped to get a drink and when I got to the ZUN line, it was 35 minutes before the start of the panel and security was (rather rudely, which I later found out wasn’t just my experience) turning people away. It sucked pretty hard. After all, he was the reason I wanted to go so much. I did manage to catch his other two panels, though they weren’t the same, content-wise, as the one I really wanted to go to. It was very interesting. I’m hoping a recording of his panel shows up on YouTube at some point. There were apparently some super interesting questions. I later found out that according to ZUN, canon of all previous games doesn’t matter once the new one comes out. Thought that was interesting. And I guess it matches his stance on PC-98’s canon.

Speaking of Touhou, I attended the Touhou fan panel this year. Lots of fun. The host was in front of me for the final panel for the Japanese guests and apparently he thinks his panels suck, but hey, I liked it. I just regret not going in 2011, but it was kind of early for me to get up and drive all the way to the con. I sat next to a Meiling that I think might have actually been the one in the 2011 con post, though I didn’t realize that until last night. I wonder if it actually was her…

Beyond that, I mostly just did a lot of shopping. Here’s everything I snagged:

As with last time, I picked up a Taiga figure. Two, actually. So now I have four Toradora figures, three of which are Taiga. Also, you may (or may not) notice that pack of Toradora cards for Precious Memories. Bought ’em just to have ’em.

And here are the trading figures I got. (None opened for display this year because I don’t have room for anything in my house, so they all went back into the box until I can find room for them.)

And yes, that is Tenshi on the AWA 2013 shirt, and yes, that is ZUN’s name on it (not signature, though, just printed name). He designed the shirt for this year and put Tenshi on it because of the peach on her hat. It’s considered official Touhou merchandise. (ZUN’s autograph policy is to only sign official Touhou merchandise and we were told that the shirts do count.)

I’m a little upset that the prices for the con seem to be going up next year. Pre-reg for next year at the con is normally $20, but it was $35 this year. Either costs are going up all the way around next year or they’re just narrowing the margins for the price difference to keep profit up. I’m not sure. Either way, I’m paid up and I look forward to next year.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

