Fall 2013 Initial Impressions

????????????????????????

Well, I guess nobody’s going to sub Tesagure! Bukatsumono this season, so I guess I’m ready to start on initial impressions…

Miss Monochrome -The Animation-

54869

So this is a short animation based on a character created and voiced by Yui Horie. I have to say, this is… different from what I imagined. It probably has the most suffering per minute that I’ve seen in anime. Right from the get-go, Miss Monochrome is tricked out of her entire fortune and is left homeless. She ends up working a minimum wage job and living in a run-down apartment sleeping under newspapers. Her rumba friend dies shortly after. And that’s just the first two episodes. It’s funny, but… Yeesh. Poor Miss Monochrome…

Kyoukai no Kanata

53111

The plot’s a little slow on this one. I’m still not really sure what we’re in for two episodes in. Beyond that, though, I’m rather enjoying some of the characters and KyoAni’s animation is, as always, amazing. There’s been a lot of action and KyoAni is nailing it out of the park every time there’s a fight. Episode 2 in particular was incredible. If nothing else, it would be impossible for me to drop this and risk missing out on all of the excellent animation that comes with a KyoAni series, and an action series at that, which we don’t often see from them.

Kill la Kill

w380

This is one of the competitors for show of the season for me. Studio Trigger (ex-Gainax, the good ones) is going all out on this and it’s been an incredible ride so far. Apparently episode 3 is amazing enough to pretty much be a final episode and there’s been nothing but high praise for it. The level of hype for this show is astounding and I can’t wait to watch the next episode on Thursday. Another great thing about this show is that it’s basically a throwback to older 90s shows, and it pulls it off flawlessly. If you’ve been watching anime for some time, you may remember as you watch this exactly what it was that helped create the western anime boom in the first place.

Golden Time

nQvwjYe

This is my other candidate for show of the season. It’s by the author of Toradora, so I’m really excited to see if it lives up to my expectations, and so far it has. It’s nice to see a change of pace with a shift to a college setting. I got to see the drunk college chick stereotype played out in anime for the first time. I mean I’ve seen drunk college girls in anime before, but… So much drinking… and stripping… It was a thing. Anyway, there’s a fun cast here and I’m very interested to see where this goes.

Little Busters! ~Refrain~

48895

So here’s the second season of Little Busters and I have to say it’s off to a great start. It hit the ground running on heavy plot and didn’t pull any punches on conflict. It’s been great so far. It could even be a competitor for show of the season, but I’m doubting it. We’ll see.

Teekyuu S3

Pretend this is a season 3 image, because I can't find any.

Pretend this is a season 3 image, because I can’t find any.

More of the same, really. Two minute presentations of pure animated insanity. I’ve had so many problems with this series lately, though. First of all, MAL added a bonus promo airing between seasons as a full episode, and there were people trying to get that changed. Took about two weeks but finally got taken care of two days ago. Now episode 26 isn’t up on Crunchyroll, though after watching it anyway I guess I understand why. Not sure if it’ll ever go up, honestly. They may skip straight to 27. Hopefully things are less of a pain from now on. Not sure why all of the bad luck is hitting this show.

Non Non Biyori

non-non-biyori

Pardon the expression, as I don’t even use it myself, but damn this show is super chill. It’s one of the most laid-back shows I’ve ever seen. It’s pretty amusing, though. The cast is interesting, there are some good jokes, and it’s cute and relaxing. Not show of the season material, by any means, but certainly something I look forward to on Mondays after I get home from work. This will be my relaxing show for the season. (Why can’t there be a Tamayura every season so I don’t have to hunt one of these down?)

BlazBlue Alter Memory

qwe

I can’t say much about this yet given that I’ve only seen one episode (with the second being tomorrow), but it looks fairly promising. There were a few moments of poor animation quality, but it seems to be off to a good start, plot-wise. It looks like they’ll be handling both Calamity Trigger and Continuum Shift, likely using the brief overview of Calamity Trigger from CSE as the start of the show so that they can spend the bulk of the time on Continuum Shift. It should be pretty interesting. The one thing I can say for sure is that I’m a little upset that I have to watch it subbed. Watching it in Japanese makes me realize just how much I miss the dub cast. Funi’s got it licensed for streaming, so hopefully a dub will be inevitable. They’ve been using plenty of non-Texas talent recently that happens to match up with the dub cast for BB, so maybe we’ll see it happen with all of the right people on board.

I dropped Wanna Be the Strongest in the World because it was offensively bad. I didn’t even want to give it three episodes. It’s literally Repeated Shots and Moaning: The Anime, and the third episode just sounded really boring in the preview. I wanted no further part of it.

So that’s all I’ve got. Probably nothing new for the remainder of the season other than posts about more import junk I’m getting. (Should be several games and at least one book.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

