Spring 2014 Initial Impressions

??????????????????????????

So here we are again. Could have done it earlier, but screw you, I was still playing Eiyuu*Senki (three and a half months so far, but I think I’m at the last boss).

Puchimas!! Petit Petit Idolm@ster

1396519687-2630914380

This being the second season, I’m not getting much that’s different from what I expected. We’re 14 episodes in (at least 15 today) because of some double feature days. I’ve seen all kinds of crazy and funny stuff. One of yesterday’s episodes had a Sad Keanu reference for some reason. Good job, Japan. Anyway, it’s iM@S. I love it and it’s not going anywhere.

Love Live! School Idol Project S2

love-live-anime

So again, a second season, and I knew what to expect going in. The series definitely knows what it’s all about this season and it’s working hard to please fans. I’m especially appreciative of the extra focus that seems to be given to Nico. And while we’re on the subject, I’ve never been a big fan of Nico x Maki shipping, but there’s a lot of this season. I mean heck, just look at the key visual up there. Look at ’em. Don’t even have to work to find it. I’m starting to see the draw. But this season looks to have a more interesting plot. We’re two episodes in and they’re already writing new songs in preparation for Love Live, with rivals A-RISE set to make their appearance in the next episode. I’m always excited for anything related to Love Live, as I’ve been a fan since the first music video, but very little can contain my excitement for season 2. Also, Nico is my goddess.

Isshuukan Friends

isshuukan_friends

This is definitely a bittersweet show. The first two episodes have had a one week = one episode formula, and I don’t know if that’s how they’re going to continue or not, but it looks like it could be pulling on all of the heartstrings each week if I keep having to sit through the warm fuzzies and the heart-crushing devastation every time. I like it a lot. It’s definitely a cute show.

No Game, No Life

no_game_no_life

I’m mostly just getting Problem Children/Mondaiji-tachi vibes from this one. Not that that’s a bad thing. It’s a bit more of a serious take on the same formula. I don’t know which novel came out first, but the anime for Problem Children hit first, so I feel like it’s a fair comparison. Anyway, it’s good. At least by the first episode. The second comes out today and we’ll see what happens, but I like the sibling pair, I like the obvious cheating, and I like the art. The art is very reminiscent of something Silver Link would do. There’s a lot of playing with outlines and super bright colors. Reminds me of something like C3, just off the top of my head.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?

7b9eac89-s

This is my adorable show for the season. There’s not much going on here, but it’s cute and funny. I’m almost always in for an adaptation of something from Manga Time Kirara or one of the related magazines. I look forward to more of this as it goes on. The next episode is tomorrow morning, so hopefully I can get some warm fuzzies early in the day.

Date A Live S2

original

I’m super excited for this one, but I’ll be honest: It’s off to a bit of a weak start. The first episode was fillery and not that interesting, and the budget was oddly low for a first episode, where it’s almost always one of the highest budget episodes of a season. I hope that’s because they saved it for better things and not because it’s just low overall. That said, though, the first episode was full of Origami goodness, so I’m pleased enough. They also threw in the Kurumi part that they cut out from the end of the first season for some reason. Next episode should be the debut of the Yamai twins. I don’t know what I’m in for, but my friend swears by them, so I’m getting kind of excited.

Mekakucity Actors

MekakucityActors

So Shaft. So very Shaft. I like it. Anyway, this, for the uninitiated, is the anime adaptation of the story told through various Jin songs using Vocaloid (which is why a lot of the characters look like certain Vocaloids) which has been novelized and given manga adaptations and sound dramas in the past. The cast from those has been reused for the voice work here, and it’s an amazing cast. Coupled with Shinbou’s direction and Shaft’s animation, this is turning out to be a really good show. As a Vocaloid fan and a fan of the songs that make up this series, I’m super excited for this one. I don’t think we’ll be let down.

So that’s it from me for a while. I obviously have more imports waiting, but I don’t have any more coming until May. I don’t think there are any scheduled imported book releases before then either. The season doesn’t end until the end of June. Odds are pretty good that I may just not be heard from until June.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

