Spring 2014 Final Impressions

??????????????????????????

Sorry about the delay. Not really best practice to do this as the next season starts. (I actually already watched my first two shows shortly before doing this.) There were no carryovers from Winter, so this will be nice and simple.

Let’s get rolling with these.

Puchimas!! Petit Petit iDOLM@STER: More of the same from the first season, really. They made a lot of improvements here, but as someone who really doesn’t like Ritsuko, I got bored with it. She was waaaaaay too prevalent in this season. She got significantly more screen time than the other idols and I don’t even like her. Bottom line: More of the same if you liked the first season. If you didn’t, don’t bother. If you don’t like Ritsuko, get ready to like her less.

Love Live! School Idol Project S2: This was amazing. Every week was a great show, creating tons of emotions. It was a full improvement on the first season in every way and ranks up there with some of my favorite anime of all time. Bottom line: If you haven’t seen it yet but you watched the first season, watch this. If you liked it, you’ll want more, and if you didn’t, this may change your mind. If you haven’t check out Love Live yet, get on it!

Isshuukaan Friends.: I wasn’t sure I’d like this show at first and I was a little frustrated with it near the end, but I really enjoyed it. It was a (mostly) happy show with a lot of feel-good moments. I wouldn’t be the least bit upset if they announced a second season. Bottom line: If you want a feel-good romance/slice-of-life series, this is a good one to check out.

No Game, No Life: This was my surprise hit for the season. I had heard about it before, but I didn’t expect much from it, to be honest. Every episode was incredible and all of the characters were lovable. The games were creative and the planning and execution was masterful. It was a joy to watch and I’m glad that it’s performing admirably in sales, because I’d love to see a second season. I hope Japan doesn’t disappoint. Unfortunately, with the way they ended it, it’s going to be a while before they get on it, since they set up the end of the first season with the end of the most recent novel. Bottom line: I think this series probably has enough appeal that anyone could enjoy it. I recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?: This series was pretty cute and very funny. I really enjoyed it. There were a few slow parts to it, but it was mostly good and I liked the main cast. It seems to be doing reasonably well in sales and it looks like there’s plenty of merchandise. Hopefully it gets a second season. Bottom line: If you’re inclined to watch silly shows about cute girls and enjoy a good laugh, it’s definitely worth checking out.

Date A Live II: While I would say that it’s probably overall weaker than the first season, I think the Miku arc (which makes up 2/3 of the season) was pretty great. I see a lot of people who didn’t seem to like it, but I felt like there was so much going on, such good character conflict, and it had so much action and confrontation. And also Kurumi came back and was amazing. It’s probably my favorite arc of the series so far. It was definitely a worthwhile launch. Now that I’ve been properly introduced to the Yamai twins and Miku, I’m anxiously awaiting the second PS3 game, which is slowly on its way to my doorstep as we speak. Bottom line: Check out S1 first, and if you liked it, come back to this. There’s nothing here for anyone who didn’t see it or didn’t like it.

Mekakucity Actors: I suppose every Shaft show can’t be an amazing production. There was a lot to love here for fans of Shaft’s way of doing things, as well as for fans of the songs that make up this series (which are all sung by human singers for the series instead of their original Vocaloids), but in the end, the show was kind of a mess. It had some sloppy animation, a lot of slow parts, and the ending was so rushed that you would have a difficult time understanding what happened without some prior reference. Understanding everything that happened was completely impossible from the anime alone. Bottom line: Check it out if you’re a fan of the series or if you desperately need more Shaft in your life, but otherwise you can probably skip it.

Man, I really didn’t watch much this season.

Pick for Show of the Season: It’s Love Live. Sure, call it bias or whatever, but I’m addicted to the series and the second season was absolutely incredible. I laughed, I nearly cried (several times), and I had a lot of fun. I have no regrets. No Game, No Life came really close, though. It’s incredible and a second season will almost inevitably end up as my show of the season for whenever it would air.

Well, we’re into the Summer season now. I’ll get a initial impression post for that up after everything airs, which will be some time after Wednesday.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

