Summer 2014 Initial Impressions

??????????????????????????

So as usual, this one is late. Laaaaaaaaate. I could make an excuse and say I was waiting to see if Francesca got subs (which I was, technically), but it’s a week after airing and still no subs, so away we go with the impressions anyway. The truth, though, was that I just didn’t get to do this last week and I was too lazy to do it this weekend.

Glasslip

93f86790998560f5a3dfe2d17fb5ff3b1403820617_full

I don’t know what to say about this one. It started out as a standard PA Works slice-of-life, romance and blah blah, etc. Had a lot of chickens and fireworks. Whatever. By the next episode, it’s about being able to see the future or something. I… don’t know anymore. It also was a lot more frustrating and boring in the second episode. We’ll see whether or not I stick to it, but I don’t really know how to feel about it just yet other than I hate the way that the characters interact with each other. Every one of them is kind of a dickbag except for the main girl an hairband boy’s… sister? I forget if her relationship has ever actually been established. Hairband boy is okay, but he’s so wholly uninteresting…

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita.

locodol_folder_anime_v1_by_restubudiman-d7p73fq

I’m rather liking this one. It’s a nice slice-of-life series about idols on a local scale, so it’s got some of the familiar scenes you’d see in something like Wake Up, Girls!, but without the grand ambitions. Very relaxing, cute, and funny. Super enjoyable.

ALDNOAH.ZERO

18872

This one, on the other hand, I’m not liking. It’s been predictable and rather uninteresting. The second half was basically a half hour of one military force hilariously god-stomping the other, which is never much fun to watch. When Daisuki put up the first episode on YouTube, they uploaded the halves in reverse order, so I accidentally watched the second half of the first episode before the first half. Want to know what I learned from that experience? That the first half was completely unnecessary. Everything you needed to know was repeated or inferred through context clues in the second half. That’s how drawn out episodes of this show are. If it doesn’t impress me by the third episode, I’m dropping it. Right now, it’s the only show I have on the chopping block.

Space Dandy S2

space-dandy-season-2

So far, Dandy is on a roll. The first episode of the second season ranks among the best episodes of the series so far. I’m super excited for another season of Dandy, and especially for another season of world premieres on Toonami. It’s still the coolest thing in the world to me that I can turn on my TV in America and be one of the first people to see an episode of Space Dandy, dubbed.

Hanayamata

8b4d6a16fc4574fefd0438507a3030651402376724_full

So far, this is my favorite new series of the season. Possibly my favorite show of the season. We’ll see how that pans out. Regardless, Hana (the blonde on the right) is the best girl of the season. This show is absolutely adorable and the first episode simply blew me away. I’ve got another episode ready to go the very second I finish writing this thing up, so on we go to the next so I can get to it. Can’t wait.

Himegoto

Himegoto

I wanted to watch this because it’s a trap series. What I didn’t know is that like all trap series, it’s only a series of shorts. Sucky, but at least it’s better animated than, say, Kaichuu. Anyway, as a result, I don’t have much to say about it. There just hasn’t been much of it. But so far so good for the few minutes I’ve seen, I guess.

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Ilya 2wei!

DVD_2巻-e1404143319166

I’m always up for more Fate, especially more Ilya, as she’s my favorite gal from the series, but this season looks like it’ll be extra great with the introduction of… Kuro, I think she’s called? I dunno, I don’t read the manga for it. I’m enjoying it so far, though. The first episode of this season was filled with plenty of great moments, so I can see it living up to or surpassing the standard set by the first season.

Yama no Susume S2

yamanosusumeS2

I loved the first season of this, because it was the first short series that I felt was truly treated like a full-length series. The animation and the voice cast were great and it was a show that I just loved to watch every week, short as it was. Fortunately, they’ve increased the length of the second season’s episodes to 15 minutes, so it feels a bit more robust this time around. The first episode was a re-introduction, but I still liked it. I can’t wait for more of it on Wednesday. I was worried about Crunchyroll picking up, but they were just slow about it and did eventually get to it.

Well, that’s all I’ve got. I don’t have a big watch list this season and a few things (Hanamonogatari, Francesca) just aren’t out or subbed. I’ll catch them in the final impressions, though. At least, I’ll catch Hanamonogatari. We’ll see about Francesca. I’m thinking it’ll end up as another Tesagure Bukatsumono…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

