My third con experience

So AWA 2014 ends today, the 20th anniversary of the con.

I took it pretty slow. Didn’t do a whole lot this year.

The first day was just the opening ceremony and the Touhou panel. I thought about getting HachiojiP’s autograph and then waiting out the Love Live panel, but they were so much later that I really didn’t feel like sticking around for something my heart wasn’t in.

For the second day, I showed up and skipped the iM@S panel because it cut into what I really wanted to do: Industry panels. I had never done those before, so I went to Crunchy’s and then Funi’s (which overlapped with the other Touhou panel). I could have gone to Home Made Kazoku’s concert after that, but again, it ran late and I just wasn’t feeling up to it.

The third day, I showed up early to get a good place in line for the Vocaloid show, which was basically the same one they did last year with a new intro (in which Miku congratulated AWA on 20 years and said she hopes to be there for 20 more herself, so hopefully AWA will keep inviting that group back for concerts). After that, I stayed for the VA roundtable immediately after and then pre-purchased a 2015 pass and headed home.

So here’s what I ended up with on the loot front:

awa2014swagsmall

And we’ll break that down into some smaller pics.

awa2014stuff1small

So first up is the AWA shirt. Sadly, neither this nor anything else they seemed to be selling featured any of the super cute art that was plastered all over the welcome banner or any of the staff booths. Super sad. I like the shirt, but I really wanted something with that art and they just weren’t selling it. It wasn’t even on the year’s booklet. Anyway, also got a Crunchyroll shirt at their booth just for having a premium membership and logging in to it.

You can also see three wallscrolls here. The two in the back were from the Sentai/Section23 booth and are old ADV stuff.

noir

ladydeath

Apparently they just couldn’t get rid of them, so they were sitting in boxes labeled “FREE! TAKE ONE!”. So I did.

The other wallscroll is from ChinAnime, and is one that I passed up on last year. It was the last one they had in stock this year.

ws011

I love it, but I just wasn’t ready to put the cash down on it last year.

As for the rest of it…

awa2014stuffsmall2

Starting from the top left, there’s a Noir metal lunch tin (also free at the Sentai/Section23 booth), three stickers from Crunchy’s booth (logo, Crunchyroll-hime, and Miss Monochrome), three Nendoroid Petits (two iM@S and one Cinderella Girls), one other trading figure (Cinderella Girls), a pack of two small Love Live posters (wish I had bought more of these), Touhou 12.8 (somehow reasonably priced at $15 at Kinokuniya’s booth), a pack of Love Live Weiss Schwarz cards (in which was a holographic Nico <3), and three art books (Ro-Kyu-Bu, Strike Witches, and Love Live).

awa2014posterssmall

These are the two Love Live posters I got. Nozomi and Maki. I love the Maki one. Shame that I didn’t get a Nico.

awa2014figuressmall

And these are the figures I ended up with. Makoto, Iori, Uzuki, and Mika. Like last year, nothing is unpacked yet because while I’ve moved, everything is still in boxes until I can get some shelving up. Once I unpack, I’ll have everything put in place properly, and I’ll probably have a picture of the setup.

So nothing exciting this year, but I had fun. Planning to return next year. I also thought about going to Momocon, which is right down the road from where I work, but I decided that it probably wasn’t quite as specific to my tastes as I’d like. Maybe some other year.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

