Fall 2014 Initial Impressions

????????????????????????

Late as always, but let’s get rolling on this thing.

I just want to start out by saying that I neglected a lot of shows when I made my anticipated watch list and everything is kind of crazy compared to that.

Karen Senki

karensenki

This wasn’t really talked about anywhere or even mentioned on charts or seasonal previews, but the creator was at AWA when I was (even though I didn’t go see it), so the series was brought to my attention. I’m not sure how many people are even watching it. It’s a CG series that feels sort of along the lines of a mix between Appleseed and Ghost in the Shell. It’s pretty good, but ultimately it’s got a paper-thin plot and no real substance to it. It’s flashy, though, and it’s some of the best-looking CG anime I’ve seen. I think I can stick with it if only to see some fun action scenes.

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken

dannagananiwoitteirukawakaranaiken

The wife in this show is one of the best waifus this season. She’s super funny and despite being a relatively normal and well-adjusted individual (if you can count throwing most of your hopes and dreams away and settling for reality to be well-adjusted), she gets along well with her otaku husband and even plays to his interests from time to time, despite not being too interested herself. It’s a pretty cute little marriage to watch and it’s good for some laughs and some references to other series. I’m rather enjoying it, despite how short it is.

Amagi Brilliant Park

amagi-brilliant-park

I consider this one of the heavy hitters this season. Animated by Kyoto Animation and written by the author of Full Metal Panic, there was a lot to look forward to in this series and it does not disappoint. The animation is incredible, the direction is superb, and the writing is both hilarious and engaging. (Also, there’s a character that’s basically a living Bonta-kun, so that’s cool.) The show is a lot of fun and it’s easily one of my top shows this season. Fun thing I learned after the first few episodes: Most of the main characters are named after music performers. A few name parodies include 50 Cent, Queen Latifa, and Kanye West. Also, Water is the best elemental spirit girl. (Wind is the silliest, though.) Also, the reason this wasn’t on my planned list is that I forgot it was this season and I didn’t recognize it when I was glancing through the chart. I fully intended to watch the hell out of this from the start.

Fate/stay night Unlimited Blade Works

fate stay night unlimited blade work ufotable

And this is one of the other heavy hitters. Based ufotable shows up to make the Fate series infinitely better again by adapting the UBW route of the FSN visual novel. Previously adapted by Studio DEEN, this route was a hot mess of poorly animated scenes and next to no actual plot, with a few bastardizations of some great scenes mixed in. For this adaptation, ufotable is covering plenty of ground in a solid amount of time (two seasons) to make sure you get the full experience. It’s been a really close adaptation so far, with plenty of plot and background info to keep you informed and some incredible action scenes, with a few new one allegedly written by Nasu, Fate series author and creator, himself. So far, it’s been nothing short of incredible and, like Fate/Zero, I expect it to cleanly steal the Show of the Season title for itself when it’s all said and done. Unfortunately, that won’t be until the end of the summer season next year, which means that I won’t be calling a show of the Year for at least that long, probably. Sucks, I know, but that’s the way it goes sometimes. These split seasons are killing me. (Also, Heaven’s Feel movie when, ufotable? As great as this is, I don’t even care when I know you have that in the works. Make my dreams come true.)

Grisaia no Kajitsu

grisaia

This is the final heavy hitter of the season (so far). It’s been a great ride so far with an amusing cast and a male lead who plays into every stereotype and trope of the genre so damn perfectly that it’s almost like he was more of a commenting viewer than a character in the series. I’ve loved every bit of the show and there have been a few real tear-jerker moments already, so I’m looking forward to the rest of it. From what I’ve heard, it’s going to be two seasons long (probably split), so there’s a lot to look forward to. If it is split, I may have to find the time to read the VN between airings.

Sora no Method

soranomethod

This show falls squarely between fun and complete disaster waiting to happen and I don’t know where it’s going yet. It has some great qualities, but a lot of the writing feels really forced and doesn’t seem to flow that naturally. I also find myself waffling between liking and hating a few characters because it’s becoming increasingly difficult to figure out who I’m supporting. I’m interested in seeing where the show goes, but it’s difficult to stay engaged sometimes.

Hi*sCoool! SeHa Girls

Hi-sCool-Seha-Girls

Sega references EVERYWHERE. So many references to classic series. It’s been a blast so far and I’ve really enjoyed it. If you’re a fan of old Sega titles, there’s a lot here for you, especially if you lived deeper down in that rabbit hole to catch a lot of the more hardcore references and jokes. So far, we’ve done a Virtua Fighter arc and a Space Channel 5 arc. Next up is apparently Phantasy Star Online and Puyo crossed over. Not sure how that’s going to work, but the preview had some classic Puyo music pumping and I’m super excited. I hope they can stuff a few Puyo characters into the show instead of only using the puyo themselves. Also, Saturn is the best girl. This is not up for debate.

Shirobako

Shirobako_Promotional_Poster

After enough time with this show, I’ve decided that it’s basically the anime version of Bakuman. A group of girls who are fans of animation and aspiring animators and voice actresses in high school go on to work as professionals in their field with plenty of references to real world people and series. It’s less obvious than Bakuman, which just threw out titles and names left and right, but it’s still obvious enough if you’re in the know who these people are supposed to be. You can find plenty of comparison pictures out there. It’s also got quite the colorful cast, which I appreciate. I’m liking where it’s going if I approach it like Bakuman and I’m finding myself appreciating it more and more with each episode.

Ore, Twintail ni Narimasu.

oretwintailninarimasu

I’m not entirely sure what I expected from this show, but it wasn’t show. And I don’t mean that in a bad way. What I ended up with is a weird super sentai series with wacky and creepy villains and some equally creepy main characters. I like it a lot so far, though. It’s consistently funny with some fun action scenes. The most recent episode honestly felt like it could have been a final episode in any other series, so I’m excited to see where the story goes from here. There’s plenty of time left in the season and they’ve got to one-up themselves somehow, so I can see this show going places.

Girlfriend (Kari)

girlfriendkari

The return of KUROEEEEEEEEERUMEEEEEEEERU (for those of you who remember the meme). I once heard someone compare this show to the anime version of The Expendables. And I’d say that’s accurate. It’s basically a show that panders to fans of popular seiyuu, because they’re pretty much all here. If you have a high-profile seiyuu you like, odds are good they’re in this show. So far, I’ve rather enjoyed hearing several of my favorites show up for an episode or two where I may not hear them much or at all otherwise this season. The most recent episode, for example, gave me plenty of Asami Imai, and the likes of Rie Kugimiya have been appearing from time to time. The cast is huge, so I expect to hear a lot more from more of my favorites.

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru

Yuki_Yuna_wa_Yusha_de_Aru_Promotional_Poster

This was sort of an unexpected pick-up but also an unexpectedly good show. The first couple of episodes are pretty action-packed and I’m getting some Madoka and Evangelion vibes from it. But there’s more to it than that, as it’s still a somewhat lighthearted slice-of-life show when the action isn’t in full swing. The characters keep throwing death flags left and right, though, which is worrying me. There will be some major mood whiplash if something like that goes down. But hey, I’m game for whatever’s coming out of this. There’s also a Vita action game on the way (for more Madoka comparisons, it reminds me of the Madoka game on Vita), so I may end up picking that up, too.

I ended up not watching World Trigger. I couldn’t get myself excited for it when it first aired and then I heard a lot of bad opinions, so I decided I had better things to do with my time. Maybe it got better, maybe not. Not even really that interested anymore.

Well, it looks like I got everything done today. I can hardly believe it. That usually doesn’t work out so cleanly for me when I say I’m going to try and do stuff like that.

Anyway, nothing else planned for now. More import pics as I get stuff in, I guess, but otherwise, I think I’m probably good until the end of the season. I may review Fairy Fencer F, which I’ve been playing for a little bit now. We’ll see. Otherwise, no plans.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

